Do what you love (Part 1)

IMG_1326

‘If you fill your life with the things that you love, you will live in abundance’ 

– Kat Kinnie –

We had a really fantastic housewarming party this weekend. I was very humbled by how many people came to celebrate Darren and I moving in together. Our little flat was packed full of beautiful, lovely, happy people. One big love fest.

Amongst all of the drunken merriment, there was one thing in particular that stood out to me, and at the time (in a slightly boozy haze) I promised myself that I would write a blog post on it, so that’s what I’m doing. 🙂

There are two lists of things that I have written and stuck to my fridge to remind me of what I need to fill my life with. One is a ‘Do what you love’ list and another is a kind of ‘Design for an awesome life’ list. Today is all about ‘Do what you love’, and I’ll save the ‘Design for an awesome life’ list for another day, maybe even tomorrow.

Anyway, both lists, for some reason were getting a fair amount of attention, especially considering how many people were going in and out of the fridge throughout the night to get to their booze.

And when asked about said list, I told people who I wanted a constant reminder of the things that I love, so I remember to fill my life with them.

I think, too easily do we forget to do the things that we really love. Maybe because we feel guilty, perhaps because we feel that we don’t have enough time or money. Surely, it can’t be that easy or simple to do what you love in life? Well, the good news is, it is.

And my promise to myself to ensure that I do at least 5 things that I love a day. Whatever they are. Yesterday for example, I wrote my blog post (Love no. 1 – writing).

I made myself a delicious hangover cure bacon, egg and avo roll (Love no. 2 – cooking) and read some of an awesome book I’m reading at the moment ‘The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari’ (Love no. 3 – Reading).

IMG_1342

And then I went out for a drive (Love no. 4 – Driving) up to Bilgola Beach on the Northern Beaches (Love no. 5 – The beach) and took my camera (Love no. 6 – Photography).

IMG_1394

IMG_1382

So I actually smashed my target of 5 things that I love. And the day before was filled with many things that I loved too, including painting a great big black sheet of fabric with neon fabric paints for one wall of our apartment, so we could shine a black light on it (Love – Painting). See the photo at the top of this post for how it came out.

So, here’s my list of things that I love as a constant reminder of the things that I want to fill my life with that make me truly happy.

IMG_1423

Why not write your own and stick it on your fridge.

Inspiration for this post

My ‘Do what you love’ list for the fridge

Read more on this subject

Do what you love (Part 2)

Fill your life with things you love

2 thoughts on “Do what you love (Part 1)

Leave a Reply

