Sing your own song

YOUVE-GOT-TO-SING-YOUR-OWN-SONG-YOU-MAKE-MY-HEART-SING-SING-LIKE-NO-ONE-IS-LISTENING-LIFE-IS-A-SONG-Framed-Quote-3

“Do not chase people. Work hard and be you. The right people who belong in your life with come find you and stay. Do your thing.” 

– Anonymous –

A couple of weeks ago Darren and I went for a bush walk and we came across a Lyre bird. They are very beautiful, and also have a very unique talent. They have the ability to imitate any kind of bird in order to attract a mate.

I then stumbled across this great video on You Tube by David Attenborough talking about the Lyre bird, so you can see it in action. You can hear it imitating a digital camera, car alarm and electric saw.

And it got me thinking about life. While I think the Lyre bird is super cool, and as the saying goes ‘imitation is the greatest form of flattery’, I feel it would be much better if they attracted other birds to them, based on the uniqueness of their own song.

And it’s the same thing in life. We spend so much time worrying about what others think of us. We change the way we think and feel, the things we say, the way we dress, just to fit in. When in actual fact if we were just ourselves, if we were just truthful, honest and authentic, we would attract people to us for who we really are, rather than a version of ourselves.

I have spent the last few years really connecting with my true, authentic self. Letting go of all of the worries, nervousness and doubt about what people would think about me, if I was to actually be myself, and it feels amazing. I feel as though I am the truest I have ever been.

I don’t really wear any make up any more and people are always telling me how good I look. I don’t tend to wear heels either. I’ve never liked them, they’re uncomfortable and my feet feel happier in flats or a slight heel. I dress exactly how I like, rather than how I think I should and people are always complimenting me on my brightly coloured jeans or tweed jacket. I have left the corporate world and set up a business doing exactly what I love. And I am writing a blog about all of the amazing learning’s I am gathering through life.

I’ve let go. I’ve let go of all of the should’s and I have decided just to be. To sing my own song, rather than copying everyone else’s and it feels amazing.

So the question is, are you singing your own song? And if not, what can you let go of, in order to find your own voice, your own style, your own look, in order to be your true, authentic self.

What if it didn’t matter what you looked like, what you did for a living, what your hobbies were, what other people thought of you? Imagine that everyone in the world loved you for exactly who you were, rather than who you thought you should be?

You’d be free to be yourself.

Sing your own song my darlings. 

Sending you lots of love, hugs and light,

Kat x x x

Inspiration for this post

The beautiful Lyre bird

3 thoughts on “Sing your own song

Leave a comment